Outlook + Gmail tip: Sent items are not showing up in my Outlook Sent Items folder

Sent messages aren’t showing up in my Outlook Sent Items folder

With the default Outlook settings, they should. If the original settings have been modified, restore the following default:

  1. In Outlook, click Tools > Options.
  2. On the Preferences tab, under E-mail, click E-mail Options.
  3. Select the check box for Save copies of messages in Sent Items folder.

From: https://www.google.com/support/a/bin/answer.py?answer=163644

4 thoughts on “Outlook + Gmail tip: Sent items are not showing up in my Outlook Sent Items folder

  1. Laurie Kelley

    I am using Outlook through Gmail. It was just recently set up, and I believe I was able to access “sent” items in my Outlook files. However, last night there was no indication my emails were sent and the “sent” folders were empty. I found them in Gmail. I have Outlook 2010, and although your instruction above sounded simple, I cannot find “Tools.” I opened Outlook and checked every tab and ribbon, and I went to Start and left clicked Outlook. I can’t find “Tools” anywhere.

    I am able to send and receive through Outlook, but in this aspect it seems Gmail has become primary. I REALLY like the provisions in Outlook 2010 and want to continue using it instead of Gmail which to me is very limited.

    Can you help?

    Reply
  2. Stacy

    Hi. Thanks for the information; however, it didn’t fix my issue. I’m typically computer savvy & am determined to solve these riddles myself. But, I’ve interested too much time at this point & need some help.
    Here are the specifics of my issue::
    Windows 7
    Outlook 2010
    Gmail account
    My SENT folder only shows email sent from my phone (Droid) out of the same gmail account.
    Any other suggestions?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

