First look at the OLPC

So I’m getting first lookat the OLPC laptops that just arrived. This is pretty exciting to get our hands on one of these. I thought I’d share my first impressions of the device.

  • The keyboard is a bit tricky to get used to. In some ways the HP 200LX keyboard was a bit better than this, however with with a modified  keyboard/finger stance, I can type relatively quickly.
  • The trackpad works pretty well. It did start doing something erratic in that every time I would start to use it, it would reset the cursor location the bottom, right-hand corner of the screen. Reboot fixed it but it seems to recur after a while on this one.
  • I thought I’d try hooking up an external keyboard and mouse to the laptop today and my ability to navigate the OS greatly increased. Much of my frustration or lack of efficiency with the interface seems related to the clumsy keyboard and trackpad.
  • The screen is great on these little laptops — I love that the screen goes into a reflective mode when the backlight is completely off which means this thing should be useable in broad daylight.

That’s it for now. I’ll update with more info later.

Leave a Reply

