iPad: helpful tool for faculty


iPad: helpful tool for faculty

Originally uploaded by seanmckay

I’m grading this morning and the iPad continues to wow me in being a part of a mobile toolkit for working with my class. First off, I appreciate the ease with which I’m able to navigate 15 weeks of course material on the iPad. Scrolling with a wheel or magic mouse gets tedious with the number of screenfulls on my course homepage. The iPad, however, provides an efficient scrolling solution. Swiping through the pages is a much quicker process.

The iPad proves to be a portable and handy 2nd screen while I’m grading student work. I was able to view and bring up student work on the iPad while editing my feedback using my MacBook Pro. The iPad’s screen is excellent for reading and eliminates the need to switch between multiple windows or tabs on my laptop.

Quick, instant on browsing access is a serious strength for the iPad. The only wait time that I’ve experienced is when I first bring the iPad into a new wifi network as it takes a few moments for it to connect to the access point.

Finally, the iPad’s email application is incredible. The screen it completely utilized for email — no general operating system user interface bits and pieces are visible…just email. Furthermore, an iPad with an Exchange connection to Google Apps for GFU (including Gmail, which is coming this summer) means I have my email, my calendar, and the university address book available.

All in all, I have not missed Adobe Flash. The only site that I have encountered a problem with is Flickr’s Flash based slideshow.

That’s all for now. I will continue to share as I gain more experience.

One thought on “iPad: helpful tool for faculty

  1. Interesting points, Sean. Everyone’s so focused on the “whiz-bang” excitement of apps and streaming video rumors that there’s little coverage of the day-to-day functionality. Looking forward to your future musings.

    You fooled me for a second with your “second screen” wording. I envisioned you plugging in your iPad and magically having an extended desktop (like http://www.mimomonitors.com/)… wouldn’t that be nifty? Tell Brian we have a new app for him to write. 🙂

    Miss you northern-techies. Hi from California.

    Ryan

Leave a Reply

