Outlook + Gmail tip: Configuration for Sent Items Redux

I’ve received a number of questions recently about my Outlook + Gmail tip that I posted some time ago. I thought it might be helpful to update you with an ideal configuration for Outlook, or any other IMAP client.

The bottom line is that you do not need to tell your IMAP client to store copies of your Sent Items…Google does some magic behind the scenes if you’re using their SMTP server and automatically drops a copy in your Sent Items “folder” inside of Gmail.

For more from Google on this, visit https://mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=78892.

Another reason I love my Cr48: It’s using an encrypted filesystem under the hood.

Link: Another reason I love my Cr48: It’s using an encrypted filesystem under the hood.

So far, I have been more than impressed with the Cr48 laptop that Google shipped me. Here’s another reason to appreciate it—your data is (theoretically) encrypted on the filesystem. Has anyone verified whether Google has implemented the encrypted filesystem in the ChromeOS shipping on the Cr48’s? Read more here.

Making it easier to video chat, voice chat, and group chat in Gmail – Official Gmail Blog

One of the things that I’ve been wrestling with since our move to Google email in the past week has been how inconvenient it is to add a person to a group chat. Google just made it easier by including buttons at the top of chat window to add a person to the chat. They also have included buttons to start a video and voice chat.

Thanks Google! Read more below.

Making it easier to video chat, voice chat, and group chat in Gmail – Official Gmail Blog.

Outlook + Gmail tip: Messages with multiple labels will appear in multiple folders in Outlook

The same message appears in multiple folders in Outlook

A message that has multiple labels in Gmail appears in each corresponding folder in Outlook. It therefore looks like there are multiple copies of the message in Outlook, and the size of your local mailbox (PST file) can be larger as a result. There’s only one copy of the message, however, so deleting it from one folder deletes it from the other folders, too. Learn more.

More info at: https://www.google.com/support/a/bin/answer.py?answer=163644